The Council of the European Union, also informally known as the EU Council (and also more commonly called the Council of Ministers) is where national ministers from each EU country meet to adopt laws and coordinate policies.

Not to be confused with:

  • European Council – another EU institution, where EU leaders meet around 4 times a year to discuss the EU’s political priorities
  • Council of Europe – not an EU body at all.

What does it do?

      1. Passes EU laws.
      2. Coordinates the broad economic policies of EU member countries.
      3. Signs agreements between the EU and other countries.
      4. Approves the annual EU budget
      5. Develops the EU's foreign and defence policies.
      6. Coordinates cooperation between courts and police forces of member countries.